The History of the Declaration of Northern Values

On February 17, 2015, in Opaskwayak Cree Nation, the Province of Manitoba held an invitational summit to bring together individuals and organizations to start a dialogue on the development of a comprehensive strategy to achieve a balance between conservation and sustainable development in the province’s North.

Invitees and attendees included representatives from the Indigenous community, industry, municipalities, academia, non-governmental organizations, and all levels of government.

To many in attendance, the most striking feature of the event was the commonality of vision expressed by those in attendance and the positive attitude towards addressing challenges.

Following the meeting several attendees, including representatives from industry, commerce, conservation, Indigenous communities and northern governments, in coordination with Community Futures North Central Development, met in an effort to put into writing the themes repeatedly expressed at that meeting in the form of a statement of “Common Values”.

Particular emphasis was placed on ensuring that the document accurately captured the “7 points” that were the focus of Chief Ron Evans’ keynote address.

The authors of that document then invited attendees of that meeting and others from the North to review this document and see if it accurately reflected the common values expressed at the meeting, and of Northern Manitobans in general.

An in-person meeting was held at the Kikiwak Inn in OCN on Oct 13-14, 2015 to review the document and make final changes.

A list of the attendees of that meeting is available here.

To add your signature to the final document or get more information click here.

We are a diverse group of unconventional allies who believe the Northern Values vision will provide prosperity and progress to The North. Founding signatories and supporters* are:

Town of Churchill, Churchill Wild, Community Futures North Central Development, *CPAWS Manitoba, Ducks Unlimited Canada, City of Flin Flon, *International Institute for Sustainable Development, *Manitoba Chambers of Commerce, Mining Association of Manitoba Inc., Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation, Norway House Cree Nation, *Opaskwayak Cree Nation, Rocky Lake Birchworks, Sayisi Dene First Nation, Town of Snow Lake, Town of The Pas, The Pas Chamber of Commerce, City of Thompson, Thompson Chamber of Commerce, Thompson Unlimited.